Updated September 2026

Online EdD Programs Without a Dissertation: 10 Top Picks for 2026

These 10 online EdD (Doctor of Education) programs end with a capstone, dossier or other project instead of a traditional dissertation. We checked each one on the school’s own website.

Yes, you can earn an online EdD without a traditional dissertation, but every program we checked still ends with a major research project. Johns Hopkins ends with a Doctoral Dossier, Vanderbilt with a team capstone, and NYU with a Problem of Practice project. Rockhurst, Nebraska Methodist and Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota each say no dissertation is required, and each can take about two years.

Key facts

  • Rockhurst lists the lowest total tuition we could confirm: $38,610 plus fees. The school says its capstone has no comprehensive exam or formal defense.
  • Johns Hopkins, Bradley, Rockhurst and Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota describe their programs as fully online or 100% online.
  • Many “no dissertation” lists include Dissertation in Practice programs. UNC-Chapel Hill, USC and Florida State use that name, so we left them off.

The 10 Best Online EdD Programs Without a Dissertation

Every program below uses a final project that the school itself does not call a dissertation. Each one is mostly online. We ordered the programs by our overall school ranking. See how we chose these programs for the full rules.

RankSchoolLocation
1Johns Hopkins UniversityBaltimore, MD
2Vanderbilt UniversityNashville, TN
3University of Virginia-Main CampusCharlottesville, VA
4Bradley UniversityPeoria, IL
5New York UniversityNew York, NY
6Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied HealthOmaha, NE
7Rockhurst UniversityKansas City, MO
8Saint Mary’s University of MinnesotaWinona, MN
9Boston CollegeChestnut Hill, MA
10Cornerstone UniversityGrand Rapids, MI

Program Profiles

1. Johns Hopkins University: Online Doctor of Education (EdD)

Johns Hopkins, in Baltimore, lets you earn its EdD 100% online. Instead of one long dissertation, you build a Doctoral Dossier. It is made of three research projects, each guided by faculty. The program takes about four years.

  • Format: 100% online
  • Length: 4 years
  • Credits: 54 at Johns Hopkins. The school counts 36 credits from your master’s degree toward a 90-credit total.
  • Final project: Doctoral Dossier of three faculty-mentored research projects
  • Admission: master’s degree and at least three years of relevant work experience; GRE optional
  • Tuition: $2,315 per credit (Summer 2026 to Spring 2027), or about $125,010 for 54 credits

Johns Hopkins online EdD program page

2. Vanderbilt University: Online EdD in Leadership and Learning in Organizations

Vanderbilt’s Peabody College, in Nashville, ends this EdD with a capstone project. You work in a small team of two to three students. Together, you study a problem at work, test a solution and present it to a faculty panel. Live online classes meet on weekday evenings.

  • Format: live online classes on weekday evenings (Central Time), plus three two-day convenings on campus
  • Length: three to four years; most students finish in about 36 months
  • Credits: 54
  • Final project: team capstone project, presented to a faculty panel
  • Admission: at least 30 graduate credits that apply to the degree and three or more years of leadership experience
  • Tuition: $2,492 per credit (2026–27), or about $134,568 for 54 credits

Vanderbilt online EdD program page

3. University of Virginia: EdD in Curriculum and Instruction (Online)

UVA built this EdD for experienced teachers who want to lead teaching and curriculum. Courses are asynchronous, so there are no set class times. The program ends with a capstone proposal and defense. It is the longest program on our list, at four to seven years.

  • Format: online, with no set class times
  • Length: 4 to 7 years
  • Credits: 72
  • Final project: capstone proposal and defense (9 credits), after a preliminary exam and a field study
  • Admission: master’s degree and at least four years of full-time teaching, or similar work
  • Tuition: $662 per credit plus a $12 online fee per credit (2026–27), or about $48,528 for 72 credits

University of Virginia online EdD program page

4. Bradley University: Online EdD in Educational Leadership

Bradley, in Peoria, Illinois, offers this EdD 100% online with no campus residency. You complete a scholarly research project instead of a traditional dissertation. Bradley says it is just as rigorous, but different in four ways. You build it step by step in your research courses.

  • Format: 100% online, with no set class times and no residency
  • Length: not stated on the school’s pages
  • Credits: 48
  • Final project: scholarly research project, written in a five-chapter format
  • Admission: master’s degree with a GPA of 3.00 or higher
  • Tuition: $1,135 per credit (2025–26, program page), or about $54,480 for 48 credits. Bradley’s 2026–27 graduate rate is $1,158. A $250 technology fee is charged each semester.

Bradley online EdD program page

5. New York University: Online EdD in Leadership and Innovation

NYU’s Steinhardt School, in New York City, designed this EdD for experienced leaders. Rather than a traditional dissertation, you study a real Problem of Practice. There is one three-day residency. At 24 to 28 months, it is one of the fastest programs here.

  • Format: online, with one three-day residency
  • Length: 24 to 28 months
  • Credits: 42 (17 courses)
  • Final project: Problem of Practice project, not a traditional dissertation
  • Admission: at least seven years of work experience in a leadership position
  • Tuition: $2,363 per credit (2026–27). NYU estimates $108,785 in total tuition and fees.

NYU online EdD program page

6. Nebraska Methodist College: Online EdD in Healthcare Education and Leadership

Nebraska Methodist College, in Omaha, offers this EdD for people who teach or lead in healthcare. The school says it plainly: no dissertation required. You finish with a Doctoral Scholarly Project. Full-time students can finish in 24 months.

  • Format: online, with two two-day sessions on campus
  • Length: 24 months full-time or 36 months part-time
  • Credits: not listed on the program page
  • Final project: Doctoral Scholarly Project
  • Admission: master’s degree
  • Tuition: $850 per credit (Fall 2026 to Summer 2027)

Nebraska Methodist College EdD program page

7. Rockhurst University: Online EdD in Education and Leadership

Rockhurst, in Kansas City, Missouri, runs a 100% online EdD with one capstone project and no dissertation. You write a publishable article and give a presentation. The school says there is no comprehensive exam or formal defense. You can finish in two years.

  • Format: 100% online
  • Length: 2 years (6 semesters)
  • Credits: 45
  • Final project: capstone project with a publishable article and a presentation
  • Admission: at least 33 graduate credits already completed
  • Tuition: $858 per credit, or $38,610 plus fees for the program

Rockhurst online EdD program page

8. Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota: Online Executive Leadership EdD

Saint Mary’s, based in Winona, Minnesota, offers this EdD fully online for working leaders. It ends with a Capstone Project in place of a dissertation. You present your project to faculty and students. You can finish in as little as two years.

  • Format: fully online
  • Length: as little as 2 years
  • Credits: 39
  • Final project: Capstone Project, presented to faculty and students
  • Admission: master’s degree with at least a 3.0 GPA, five or more years of leadership experience and an interview
  • Tuition: $1,570 per credit (listed on the program page), or about $61,230 for 39 credits

Saint Mary’s online EdD program page

9. Boston College: Executive EdD in Higher Education

Boston College built this EdD for experienced college leaders. It ends with an Executive Doctoral Dossier. Classes are online, with a live 90-minute session each week. Each summer you travel for one week: first to Boston College, then abroad, then to a retreat center.

  • Format: online, with weekly live sessions and three week-long summer residencies
  • Length: 3 years
  • Credits: 48
  • Final project: Executive Doctoral Dossier
  • Admission: designed for experienced higher education leaders; GRE not required
  • Tuition: $2,088 per credit (2026–27), or about $100,224 for 48 credits

Boston College Executive EdD program page

10. Cornerstone University: Online EdD in Organizational Leadership and Development

Cornerstone, in Grand Rapids, Michigan, teaches this EdD from a Christian worldview. You take seven-week online courses one at a time. The final capstone project replaces a traditional dissertation. You defend your proposal and your final project before a committee.

  • Format: online, plus a short summer residency on campus each year. The school’s pages differ on its length, from one day to three days.
  • Length: not clearly stated on the school’s pages
  • Credits: 60 (52 in courses and 8 for the capstone)
  • Final project: capstone project, with a proposal defense and a final defense
  • Admission: at least five years of relevant professional experience
  • Tuition: $4,470 per semester for full-time students

Cornerstone online EdD program page

Compare the 10 Programs at a Glance

Length is the time each school lists. Estimated tuition is the price per credit multiplied by the credits, unless the school posts its own total. Fees, books and travel are usually extra.

SchoolFinal projectCampus visitsLengthEstimated tuition
Johns HopkinsDoctoral DossierNone4 years$125,010
VanderbiltTeam capstoneThree 2-day visitsAbout 36 months$134,568
VirginiaCapstone and defenseNone listed4 to 7 years$48,528
BradleyScholarly research projectNoneNot stated$54,480 (2025–26 rate)
NYUProblem of PracticeOne 3-day residency24 to 28 months$108,785 (school estimate)
Nebraska MethodistDoctoral Scholarly ProjectTwo 2-day sessions24 months full-time$850 per credit
RockhurstCapstone and articleNone2 years$38,610 plus fees
Saint Mary’s (MN)Capstone ProjectNoneAs little as 2 years$61,230
Boston CollegeExecutive Doctoral DossierThree 1-week summer trips3 years$100,224
CornerstoneCapstone and defenseOne short summer visit a yearNot clearly stated$4,470 per semester

What “No Dissertation” Really Means

Every accredited EdD we checked ends with a large research project. “No dissertation” means you skip the traditional dissertation, not the research. Here are the main types of final projects:

  • Traditional dissertation: A long, five-chapter research study that adds new knowledge to the field. You defend it before a committee.
  • Dissertation in Practice: A research study about a real problem at work. It is more practical, but schools still call it a dissertation.
  • Capstone project: A final project that applies research to a real problem. Vanderbilt, UVA, Rockhurst, Saint Mary’s and Cornerstone use capstones.
  • Dossier: A collection of smaller research projects instead of one big paper. Johns Hopkins and Boston College use dossiers.
  • Scholarly or Problem of Practice project: Bradley, NYU and Nebraska Methodist use these names for their final research projects.

These projects are not always shorter. Bradley says its project is as rigorous as a dissertation and uses a five-chapter format. UVA and Cornerstone still require a defense. Rockhurst is different: its capstone has no comprehensive exam or formal defense.

Why We Left Out Dissertation in Practice Programs

Many “no dissertation” lists include programs that end with a Dissertation in Practice. We did not. If a school calls its final project a dissertation, we believe readers should know that.

For example, UNC-Chapel Hill, USC, Florida State and William & Mary all use a Dissertation in Practice. VCU calls its team capstone a “dissertation-in-practice.” Lipscomb ends with a dissertation manuscript and an oral defense. Penn State World Campus says its capstone “is synonymous with a dissertation.”

These can still be excellent choices. A Dissertation in Practice is usually more practical than a traditional dissertation. Our main guide to the best online EdD programs includes several of them.

Team or Solo? Defense or Not?

Final projects also differ in how you do them and how they are judged. Ask about both before you apply.

  • Team projects: Vanderbilt students do their capstone in teams of two to three. This means less writing alone, but you depend on your teammates.
  • Solo projects: Rockhurst gives each student one-on-one mentoring for the capstone. If you prefer to work alone, ask each school whether projects are individual.
  • A formal defense: UVA and Cornerstone both require a defense. Vanderbilt teams present to a faculty panel.
  • A presentation only: Saint Mary’s students present to faculty and students. Rockhurst requires a presentation but no formal defense.

Spalding University, which Google’s AI answer names for this search, shows how big these projects can be. Its capstone is 50 to 70 pages, with a 20-minute defense. Spalding meets our rules but ranks below our top 10.

How We Chose These Programs

We started with all 161 schools named in the top Google results for online EdD programs without a dissertation. We kept only programs that meet four rules:

  • The school’s own current page names a final project other than a dissertation, or says there is no dissertation.
  • The school does not call the project a dissertation, including a Dissertation in Practice.
  • The program is mostly online, with only a few short campus visits.
  • The program is admitting new students.

Then we ordered the programs by our overall school ranking. That ranking uses U.S. Department of Education data on graduation rates, retention rates, graduate earnings and cost. We checked every program detail on each school’s website in September 2026.

Some schools on other lists did not qualify. Illinois, Indiana, Maryville, Kentucky and Drexel require a dissertation. Gonzaga holds summer classes face-to-face, and Louisville’s EdD is in person. East Tennessee State’s Global Sport Leadership EdD meets our rules but ranks just below our top 10.

Already Finished Your Coursework? A Different Path

Some people started a doctorate but never finished the dissertation. This is called ABD, or “all but dissertation.” The programs on this page are full degrees, and they are not built for ABD students.

If you are ABD, first ask your old school if you can return and finish. Some schools also offer completion programs that accept earlier credits. Before you enroll, confirm how many credits will transfer and that the school is accredited.

Paying for an Online EdD in 2026

Estimated tuition on our list ranges from $38,610 plus fees at Rockhurst to $134,568 at Vanderbilt. UVA is also on the low end, at about $48,528 for all 72 credits.

Federal student loan rules changed on July 1, 2026. New graduate students can no longer borrow Grad PLUS loans. You can still borrow up to $20,500 a year in Direct Unsubsidized Loans. Total federal borrowing for graduate school is limited to $100,000, and the lifetime limit is $257,500.

This matters at the most expensive schools. Estimated tuition at Johns Hopkins, Vanderbilt, NYU and Boston College is more than $100,000. Federal loans alone will not cover the full cost there. If you were already borrowing before July 1, 2026, the old limits may still apply for a short time. Ask your financial aid office, and see the U.S. Department of Education’s loan limit charts.

Ask your employer about tuition help. You may also qualify for Public Service Loan Forgiveness if you work for a public school, college, government agency or nonprofit. For lower prices, see our guide to the cheapest online EdD programs.

Terms to Know

  • Dissertation: A long research study, usually five chapters, that a doctoral student writes and defends.
  • Dissertation in Practice: A doctoral research project that studies a real problem at work and proposes a solution.
  • Capstone: A final project that applies what you learned to a real problem.
  • Dossier: A collection of research projects or papers submitted together as the final project.
  • Problem of Practice: A real problem in your school or workplace that you study during the program.
  • Defense: A meeting where you present your project and answer questions from faculty.
  • ABD (all but dissertation): A student who finished coursework but not the dissertation.
  • Residency or convening: A short, required visit, usually to campus, that lasts a few days.
  • Grad PLUS loan: A federal loan for graduate students that closed to new borrowers on July 1, 2026.

Explore More EdD Guides

Online EdD Without a Dissertation FAQ

Can you get an EdD without a dissertation?

Yes. Many online EdD programs replace the traditional dissertation with a capstone, dossier or scholarly project. Johns Hopkins, Vanderbilt and NYU are three examples. You still complete a large research project, so expect a lot of writing.

Which doctoral programs don’t require a dissertation?

The 10 EdD programs on our list do not require one. Rockhurst, Nebraska Methodist and Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota say so directly. Many other professional doctorates, such as the Doctor of Nursing Practice, also end in projects rather than dissertations.

Is a Dissertation in Practice the same as no dissertation?

No. A Dissertation in Practice is a more practical kind of dissertation, but it is still a dissertation. Schools such as UNC-Chapel Hill and USC use this name. We did not include those programs on this list.

What is the shortest EdD program without a dissertation?

On our list, Rockhurst lists two years, and Saint Mary’s says as little as two years. Nebraska Methodist takes 24 months full-time, and NYU takes 24 to 28 months. For more fast options, see our guide to accelerated online EdD programs.

Are EdD programs without a dissertation easier?

Not always. The projects are more practical, but they still take serious research. Bradley’s project uses a five-chapter format, and Johns Hopkins asks for three research projects. Rockhurst is lighter, with no formal defense.

Is an EdD without a dissertation respected?

Yes, if the school is accredited. You earn the same Doctor of Education degree as students who write a dissertation. Johns Hopkins, Vanderbilt and Boston College all offer EdDs without one.

Sources: Final project rules and program details were checked on each university’s official website in September 2026. Tuition is the rate each school posted in September 2026, and we name the academic year when the school does. Estimated totals are our math unless the school posts its own total. Loan limits are from the U.S. Department of Education. School order uses our overall ranking, which is based on U.S. Department of Education data.

Scroll to Top