Updated September 2026

Cheapest Online EdD Programs: 10 Low-Cost Options for 2026

These 10 online EdD (Doctor of Education) programs cost $27,408 or less in total tuition. We priced each one from the school’s own tuition page.

The cheapest online EdD programs we verified cost $16,995 to $27,408 in total tuition. Valdosta State University is the lowest, at $309 per credit for 55 credits, and the University of West Georgia is next at $19,800. Each total is the rate on the school’s own tuition page times the credits its program requires. All 10 schools also do well in our overall school ranking.

Key facts

  • Valdosta State has the lowest total tuition on our list. Its 55-credit EdD costs $16,995 at $309 per credit (Fall 2026).
  • West Georgia, Arkansas and Ole Miss charge online students the same rate, no matter which state they live in.
  • Since July 1, 2026, new graduate students cannot borrow Grad PLUS loans. Federal unsubsidized loans are capped at $20,500 a year.

The 10 Cheapest Online EdD Programs

We started with 73 schools named in the top Google results for cheapest online EdD programs. We kept only programs that meet four rules:

  • The school does well in our overall school ranking.
  • The EdD is mostly online, with no more than four short campus visits. None of our 10 programs requires a campus visit.
  • The school’s own website posts a per-credit rate for out-of-state online students and the number of credits in the program.
  • The program is admitting new students.

Then we sorted the programs by total tuition, from lowest to highest. We checked every rate and credit total on each school’s website in September 2026.

RankSchoolLocationTotal Tuition
1Valdosta State UniversityValdosta, GA$16,995
2University of West GeorgiaCarrollton, GA$19,800
3Marshall UniversityHuntington, WV$24,660
4Arkansas State UniversityJonesboro, AR$24,837
5University of the CumberlandsWilliamsburg, KY$24,900
6University of West FloridaPensacola, FL$25,243.47
7University of ArkansasFayetteville, AR$25,567.38
8Northern Illinois UniversityDeKalb, IL$25,921.56
9Kennesaw State UniversityKennesaw, GA$26,730
10University of MississippiUniversity, MS$27,408

Program Profiles

1. Valdosta State University: Online EdD in Leadership

Valdosta State, a public university in south Georgia, offers its EdD in Leadership fully online. You begin with an online doctoral orientation, and every course is delivered online. The school describes two years of coursework, plus extra time to finish the dissertation. No other program we checked has a lower total tuition.

  • Format: fully online; online orientation; no campus visits
  • Length: two years of coursework, plus extra time to complete the dissertation
  • Credits: 55
  • Final project: dissertation
  • Admission: master’s degree and GRE or MAT scores; fall deadline March 15
  • Tuition: $309 per credit (Fall 2026) × 55 credits = $16,995. Add a $442 online learning fee each term.

Valdosta State online EdD program page

2. University of West Georgia: Online EdD in School Improvement

West Georgia, in Carrollton, designed this EdD for educators who want to improve their schools. You need a current teaching, service or leadership certificate to apply. Coursework is 100% online, and out-of-state students do not pay a higher rate for online credits. The program ends with a School Improvement Capstone Experience.

  • Format: 100% online; online orientation; no campus visits
  • Length: as little as 3 years
  • Credits: 60 for students with a master’s degree. A shorter 33-credit track is only for students with an EdS.
  • Final project: School Improvement Capstone Experience (9 credits)
  • Admission: master’s degree and a current teaching, service or leadership certificate
  • Tuition: $330 per credit ($249 tuition plus $81 eTuition, fiscal year 2027) × 60 credits = $19,800. Add an online learning fee of $85.60 per credit, up to $428 per term.

West Georgia online EdD program page

3. Marshall University: Online EdD in Leadership Studies

Marshall, in Huntington, West Virginia, offers its Leadership Studies EdD 100% online. You complete the coursework on your own schedule, with no set class times. The 45 credits include 18 credits of content courses and 27 credits of research. The research credits include a 9-credit dissertation.

  • Format: 100% online; no campus visits
  • Length: not stated. After your dissertation plan is approved, you have no more than two years to finish.
  • Credits: 45 (18 content credits and 27 research credits)
  • Final project: dissertation
  • Admission: master’s degree from an accredited school; test scores optional
  • Tuition: $548 per credit (2026–27) × 45 credits = $24,660. Add a $50 program fee per credit (capped at 9 credits a term) and a $50 e-delivery fee per credit.

Marshall online EdD program page

4. Arkansas State University: Online EdD in Educational Leadership

Arkansas State, in Jonesboro, offers a 100% online EdD built around a dissertation. Its per-credit rate includes all fees, and the school posts the full tuition total on the program page. That makes it one of the easiest programs on our list to budget for. You can finish in as few as 40 months.

  • Format: 100% online; no campus visits
  • Length: as few as 40 months
  • Credits: 51. Students without an EdS or 39 graduate credits may need to take more.
  • Final project: dissertation
  • Admission: master’s degree from an accredited school; next start in January 2027
  • Tuition: $487 per credit (no year posted) × 51 credits = $24,837, the school’s own total. All fees are included.

Arkansas State online EdD program page

5. University of the Cumberlands: Online EdD in Educational Leadership

The University of the Cumberlands, in Williamsburg, Kentucky, offers its EdD fully online with no set class times. Its per-credit rate covers both tuition and fees. The school says you can finish in three years or fewer. If your dissertation takes longer, you keep enrolling in the final dissertation course until you defend it.

  • Format: online, with no set class times; no campus visits
  • Length: three years or fewer
  • Credits: 60
  • Final project: dissertation
  • Tuition: $415 per credit for tuition and fees (2025–26, the latest year posted) × 60 credits = $24,900

Cumberlands online EdD program page

6. University of West Florida: Online EdD in Curriculum and Instruction

West Florida, in Pensacola, offers a 100% online EdD in Curriculum and Instruction. It ends with a Dissertation in Practice, which studies a real problem in education. The school posts its own tuition total for students from outside Florida. The next start date is fall 2027.

  • Format: 100% online; no campus visits
  • Length: an estimated 36 months
  • Credits: 51
  • Final project: Dissertation in Practice
  • Admission: bachelor’s and master’s transcripts; GRE scores optional
  • Tuition: $494.97 per credit for non-Florida residents (no year posted) × 51 credits = $25,243.47, the school’s own total. The program page does not list fees.

West Florida online EdD program page

7. University of Arkansas: Online EdD in Human Resource Development

The University of Arkansas, in Fayetteville, offers its EdD in Human Resource Development 100% online. The degree focuses on training and developing people at work. Online students pay in-state tuition, no matter where they live, and no GRE is required. You pass a candidacy exam before you write your dissertation.

  • Format: 100% online; no campus visits
  • Length: an estimated 4 years
  • Credits: 54
  • Final project: candidacy exam and dissertation
  • Admission: master’s degree; no GRE; fall start only, with an April 15 deadline
  • Tuition: $473.47 per credit (fall 2026) × 54 credits = $25,567.38. Add $55.38 per credit in library, network, off-campus and online facilities fees.

University of Arkansas online EdD program page

8. Northern Illinois University: Online EdD in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Northern Illinois, in DeKalb, uses a part-time cohort model. You take two or three classes each fall, spring and summer with the same group of classmates. Classes meet online one night per week, so plan to keep that evening free. The per-credit rate includes both tuition and fees.

  • Format: online, with one live evening class per week; no campus visits
  • Length: not stated; part-time, with 2–3 classes in fall, spring and summer
  • Credits: 42
  • Final project: dissertation
  • Admission: master’s degree from an accredited school; fall deadlines April 15 (priority) and May 15
  • Tuition: $617.18 per credit for tuition and fees (2026–27) × 42 credits = $25,921.56, the school’s own total. Domestic and international students pay the same rate.

Northern Illinois online EdD program page

9. Kennesaw State University: Online EdD in Instructional Technology

Kennesaw State, in Kennesaw, Georgia, offers a 100% online EdD in Instructional Technology. It is built for experienced teachers, and its 22 courses lead to dissertation research. At 66 credits, it is the longest program on our list. Its low per-credit rate keeps it on our list anyway.

  • Format: 100% online; no campus visits
  • Length: three to four years
  • Credits: 66 (22 courses)
  • Final project: dissertation
  • Admission: GRE scores, a teaching certificate and three years of experience; Fall 2027 deadline March 1, 2027
  • Tuition: $405 per credit (fiscal year 2027, fall 2026 to summer 2027) × 66 credits = $26,730. Add $594 in student fees each semester.

Kennesaw State online EdD program page

10. University of Mississippi: Online EdD in Higher Education

The University of Mississippi, known as Ole Miss, offers this online EdD for people who work in colleges and universities. Online students pay in-state rates, no matter where they live. The program takes three years and ends with a dissertation in practice. Ole Miss has the highest overall rank of any school on this list.

  • Format: online; no campus visits
  • Length: 3 years
  • Credits: 48 credits after a master’s degree
  • Final project: dissertation in practice
  • Admission: master’s degree; GRE Analytical Writing score of 4.0 or higher; priority deadline March 1
  • Tuition: $571 per credit (fall and spring 2026–27; summer is $555) × 48 credits = $27,408. Add a $75 online class fee per credit.

Ole Miss online EdD program page

Compare Costs at a Glance

Total tuition is the rate per credit times the credits in the program. Arkansas State, Cumberlands and Northern Illinois include fees in their rates. At the other schools, required fees are extra. Length is in each school’s own words, shortened.

SchoolPer creditCreditsTotal tuitionRequired feesLength
Valdosta State$30955$16,995$442 per term2 years of courses, plus dissertation
West Georgia$33060$19,800$85.60 per credit (up to $428 per term)As little as 3 years
Marshall$54845$24,660$50 + $50 per creditNot stated
Arkansas State$48751$24,837IncludedAs few as 40 months
Cumberlands$41560$24,900Included3 years or fewer
West Florida$494.9751$25,243.47Not listed36 months (estimated)
Arkansas$473.4754$25,567.38$55.38 per credit4 years (estimated)
Northern Illinois$617.1842$25,921.56IncludedNot stated (part-time)
Kennesaw State$40566$26,730$594 per semester3 to 4 years
Ole Miss$57148$27,408$75 per credit3 years

How We Priced Each Program

Every total on this page is simple math: the school’s rate per credit times the credits its program requires. We took both numbers from the school’s own website, not from other college lists.

We used the rate that an out-of-state student pays for online courses. At several schools, that rate is the same as the in-state rate. We also name the academic year of each rate. Arkansas State and West Florida do not post a year, and Cumberlands has not yet posted a 2026–27 rate.

Our totals are tuition only, unless the rate already includes fees. That is one reason other lists show different prices. For example, one popular list shows $20,748 for Valdosta State because it adds nine terms of the online learning fee.

We compare total cost, not yearly cost. A yearly price can make a long program look cheap. The total shows what you will pay for the whole degree.

Price was not our only test. Every school here also does well in our overall school ranking. That ranking uses U.S. Department of Education data on graduation rates, retention rates, graduate earnings and cost.

Costs the List Price Leaves Out

Tuition is the largest cost of an EdD, but it is rarely the only one. Plan for these extra costs before you choose a program:

  • Required fees: Most schools add fees for online courses. At Valdosta State, the $442 fee adds $3,978 if you finish in nine terms. At Marshall, the two per-credit fees could add up to $4,500, but the program fee has a cap each term.
  • Extra dissertation time: Many students need more time to finish the dissertation. At Cumberlands, you repeat the final dissertation course until you defend it. Each extra term can add tuition and fees.
  • Extra credits: Arkansas State lists 51 credits. However, students without an EdS or 39 graduate credits may need to take more.
  • Books and technology: You need a reliable computer and internet connection. Books and software are usually not part of tuition.
  • Travel: None of our 10 programs requires a campus visit. Some low-cost programs on other lists do, and those lists do not include travel in their prices.

Before you apply, ask each school for a full cost estimate. It should include fees and a realistic timeline for the dissertation.

Paying for Your EdD in 2026

Federal student loan rules changed on July 1, 2026. New graduate students can no longer borrow Grad PLUS loans. Many older guides still suggest them, so be careful with advice written before 2026.

You can still borrow up to $20,500 a year in Direct Unsubsidized Loans. Total federal borrowing for graduate school is limited to $100,000. The lifetime limit for all federal student loans is $257,500. Every program on our list costs far less than the graduate limit.

If you were already borrowing before July 1, 2026, the old limits may still apply to you for a short time. Ask your financial aid office. For details, see the U.S. Department of Education’s loan limit charts.

Loans are not the only way to pay. Try these options first:

  • Employer tuition help: Many school districts and employers help pay for graduate courses. Ask your human resources office about limits and any rules for staying after you finish.
  • Payment plans: Ask each school’s business office whether it offers a payment plan. A plan can spread each term’s bill over several months.
  • Loan forgiveness: If you work for a government agency, a public school or college, or a nonprofit, you may qualify for Public Service Loan Forgiveness.

Why Some Cheap Programs Are Not on This List

Some schools appear on other lists of cheap online EdDs but not on ours. Here is why:

  • St. Cloud State University: Google’s AI answer names it as a low-cost option. However, it falls below our quality cutoff. Its 2026–27 doctoral rate is $806.95 per credit, or $48,417 for 60 credits.
  • American College of Education: It often appears on cheap EdD lists. It does not have an overall rank in our data, so it does not meet our quality cutoff.
  • University of Wyoming: It posts an online rate of $627 per credit for fiscal year 2027. However, we could not find a total number of credits for the EdD, so we could not price it.
  • Oakland City University: We could not confirm the program’s current format or admission. The school’s website was not working when we checked in September 2026.
  • Texas Tech University: It posts a range of $415 to $500 per credit, based on residency. We could not confirm a single rate for out-of-state online students.
  • University of Houston: Its EdD requires face-to-face sessions, so it is not mostly online.

One program just missed our top 10. The University of Alabama’s online EdD in Curriculum and Instruction costs $480 per credit (2026–27) × 60 credits = $28,800. Add a $10 fee per credit. The next start is fall 2027. Alabama online EdD program page

Terms to Know

  • Per-credit rate: The price of one credit hour. Schools multiply it by the credits you take.
  • Total tuition: The per-credit rate times the credits in the program. Required fees are often extra.
  • Required fees: Charges added to tuition, such as online learning or technology fees.
  • eTuition: A special tuition rate for online courses. Valdosta State, West Georgia and Kennesaw State use it.
  • Out-of-state rate: The price for students who live in another state. Many online programs charge everyone the same rate.
  • Dissertation: A long research study that you plan, write and defend at the end of a doctorate.
  • Dissertation in Practice: A dissertation that studies a real problem at work and proposes a solution.
  • Cohort: A group of students who start the program together and take courses as a group.
  • Grad PLUS loan: A federal loan for graduate students. It closed to new graduate borrowers on July 1, 2026.
  • Direct Unsubsidized Loan: A federal student loan that starts to build interest right away.

Explore More EdD Guides

Cheapest Online EdD FAQ

What is the cheapest online EdD program?

On our list, Valdosta State’s online EdD in Leadership has the lowest total tuition. It costs $309 per credit for 55 credits, or $16,995 (Fall 2026). Add a $442 online learning fee each term. West Georgia is next at $19,800.

What online school has the cheapest tuition?

Among the schools we priced, Valdosta State has the lowest rate at $309 per credit. West Georgia is next at $330 per credit. However, the number of credits matters too. Kennesaw State charges $405 per credit, but its 66 credits raise the total.

Are there fully funded online EdD programs?

They are rare. Full funding is much more common in full-time, on-campus doctoral programs. For an online EdD, the most common help comes from employers and school districts. Public service workers may also qualify for loan forgiveness later.

What is the shortest EdD program?

Most programs on our list take about three years. Cumberlands says three years or fewer, and West Florida estimates 36 months. For faster options, see our guide to accelerated online EdD programs.

Can I still get a Grad PLUS loan for an EdD?

Not if you are a new graduate borrower. Grad PLUS loans closed to new graduate borrowers on July 1, 2026. You can still borrow up to $20,500 a year in Direct Unsubsidized Loans. Total federal borrowing for graduate school is capped at $100,000.

Why do other sites show different prices for the same school?

Many lists use older rates, yearly prices or different fee rules. We use each school’s current posted rate times the program’s credits. We show fees separately, so you can see what the total includes.

Is a cheap online EdD respected?

Yes, if it comes from an accredited university. You earn the same degree as students who pay more. Every school on our list also does well in our overall ranking. You can check any school’s accreditation in the U.S. Department of Education’s database of accredited schools.

Sources: Tuition rates, fees and credit totals were checked on each university’s official tuition and program pages in September 2026. We name the academic year of each rate when the school does. Totals are our math (rate × credits) unless the school posts its own total. Loan limits are from the U.S. Department of Education. Our quality cutoff uses our overall school ranking, which is based on U.S. Department of Education data.

Scroll to Top