Updated September 2026

1-Year Online Doctoral Programs: Can You Really Finish in 12 Months?

We checked the fastest online EdD (Doctor of Education) programs on each school’s own website. Here is how long a doctorate really takes, and how to avoid fake fast degrees.

No accredited online EdD we checked can be finished in one year. The fastest full programs, such as Edgewood and Rockhurst, take about 24 months. If you already have doctoral credits, Gwynedd Mercy’s ABD completion program takes as few as 18 months. Ads for 12-month doctorates usually describe coursework only, a fastest-pace estimate or a school without recognized accreditation.

Key facts

  • Edgewood, Lipscomb, Nebraska Methodist (full-time), Rockhurst and Spalding each list about two years for a full online EdD.
  • Gwynedd Mercy’s 18-month ABD program is only for students who finished EdD coursework at another school.
  • Capella’s fastest EdD estimate is 20 months, a pace reached by its fastest 25% of FlexPath students.

Why a One-Year Doctorate Is So Rare

A doctorate has two big parts: advanced courses and a major research project. Both take time, even online.

First, there are many credits. The fastest online EdD programs we checked require 42 to 60 credits. NYU’s program has 42, and Spalding’s and Trevecca’s each have 60. Even the fastest schools we found spread this work over about two years.

Second, there is the research project. In most programs, this is a dissertation or a similar final project. You usually go through these steps:

  1. Choose a problem to study and write a plan, called a proposal.
  2. Get the plan approved by faculty. If you study people, a review board must also approve it.
  3. Collect and study your data.
  4. Write up your findings and defend them in front of a faculty committee.

Each step needs feedback from faculty, and you cannot rush their review. That is why a “12-month” doctorate usually means something else. We explain the common cases below.

The Fastest Online EdD Programs We Verified

These five programs are the fastest full online EdDs we found. You can enter each one with a master’s degree. Each school’s website says the whole degree takes about two years, and each program is mostly online.

The table lists schools in alphabetical order, and it is not a ranking. Length uses each school’s own words. Tuition is the rate posted in September 2026, with the academic year when the school names one. Fees are usually extra.

SchoolLength (school’s words)CreditsTuition
Edgewood UniversityAs few as 24 months45$750 per credit; $33,750 total (2025–26)
Lipscomb University24 months54$953 per credit (year not stated)
Nebraska Methodist College24 months full-timeNot listed$850 per credit (fall 2026 to summer 2027)
Rockhurst University6 semesters, or 2 years45$858 per credit; $38,610 plus fees (year not stated)
Spalding UniversityTwo years60$850 per credit; $51,000 plus fees (year not stated)

Edgewood University: Accelerated Doctor of Education

Edgewood, in Wisconsin, calls its EdD an accelerated, fully online program. The school says you can finish it in as few as 24 months. The program has 45 credits. Tuition is $750 per credit, or $33,750 for the full program (2025–26).

Edgewood accelerated EdD program page

Lipscomb University: Doctor of Education

Lipscomb, in Tennessee, lists its EdD at 24 months and 54 credits. You can choose a fully online, self-paced track or a hybrid track. Tuition is $953 per credit, and the school does not name a year. At that rate, 54 credits cost about $51,462 (our math). Working educators can get a 25% in-service discount, which lowers the rate to $715 per credit.

Lipscomb EdD program page

Nebraska Methodist College: EdD in Healthcare Education and Leadership

This EdD focuses on education and leadership in healthcare. Full-time students can finish in 24 months, and part-time students take 36 months. You come to campus for two intensive learning sessions over two days. Tuition is $850 per credit for fall 2026 to summer 2027. The program page does not list a credit total.

Nebraska Methodist EdD program page

Rockhurst University: Online EdD

Rockhurst, in Missouri, says its 100% online EdD takes 6 semesters, or 2 years. It ends with a capstone project, and no dissertation is required. The program has 45 credits, but one paragraph on the page says 60, so confirm with the school. Tuition is $858 per credit, or $38,610 plus fees. No year is named.

Rockhurst online EdD program page

Spalding University: Online EdD in Leadership

Spalding, in Kentucky, says students can graduate in two years. The EdD is 100% online, with no residency and no GRE required. It has 60 credits. Tuition is $850 per credit, for a total of $51,000 plus fees. No year is named.

Spalding online EdD program page

Just over 24 months: NYU and Trevecca

Two more programs take a little longer. NYU’s online EdD in Leadership and Innovation lists 24–28 months and 42 credits, with one three-day residency. Its rate is $2,363 per credit (2026–27), and NYU estimates total tuition and fees of $108,785.

Trevecca’s online EdD takes 27 months and has 60 credits. It is fully online, with no residency. Tuition is $725 per credit, or $43,500 in total.

Many other accelerated programs take longer. Maryville and Youngstown State list as few as 32 months, and Miami lists 2.5 years.

See the full list: Our guide to accelerated online EdD programs compares 10 fast programs. It covers length, campus visits, final projects and tuition for each one.

Faster Paths If You Already Have Doctoral Credits

A few programs take less than two years. But they are not for new doctoral students. They are for people who already finished doctoral coursework, often at another school. People in this group are called ABD, which means “all but dissertation.”

  • Gwynedd Mercy University (Pennsylvania): Its ABD Completion Program takes as few as 18 months. It is for students who completed coursework for an EdD at another school. Gwynedd Mercy EdD program page
  • Edgewood University (Wisconsin): Its EdD Completion program takes 18 to 24 months and has 30 credits. You need transcripts showing 24 post-master’s credits. Tuition is $1,092 per credit, or $32,760 for the program (2025–26). Edgewood EdD completion program page
  • Indiana Wesleyan University (Indiana): Its EdD can take as little as 20 months. For that path, you need 30 doctoral-level credits or a doctoral-level EdS. The program has 30 to 60 credits. Tuition is $650 per credit, and no year is named. Indiana Wesleyan EdD program page

If you started a doctorate in the past, ask each school how many of your credits will count. Also ask whether older credits have a time limit.

What “12 Months” Ads Usually Mean

We traced every 12-month doctorate claim we found. Each one fell into one of these groups:

  • A fastest-pace estimate: Some self-paced programs show how fast their quickest students finish. That is not the normal length.
  • Coursework only: The time does not include the dissertation or final project.
  • Credit for earlier work: The program counts doctoral credits or published research you already have.
  • No recognized accreditation: The school is not accredited by an agency the U.S. Department of Education recognizes.

Capella University

Capella is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Its FlexPath format is self-paced, but you must finish each course within 12 weeks. For its online EdD in Educational Leadership, Capella shows three estimates:

  • Accelerated pace: 20 months and $23,800. Capella says this is the speed of its fastest 25% of FlexPath students.
  • Typical pace: 25 months and $30,600.
  • Slower pace: 38 months and $47,600.

Capella says these costs are only estimates, effective July 13, 2026. FlexPath tuition is $3,400 per 12-week billing session. Capella’s DNP (nursing doctorate) lists 13 months at the fastest pace and 18 months at the typical pace. It also requires at least 1,000 practicum hours. Capella EdD program page

University of Phoenix

University of Phoenix says it does not offer PhD programs. Its doctorates include the Doctor of Education, Doctor of Business Administration, Doctor of Health Administration and Doctor of Management. Phoenix lists its EdD at 42 months, with at least 54 credits. Phoenix is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Phoenix EdD program page

An earlier version of this page said Capella and Phoenix offered 12-month doctorates. Their own websites do not support that, so we corrected this page.

Coursework-only lengths

Some lists call a program two years long when that is only the coursework. For example, Lamar University says you can complete EdD coursework in just six semesters. Lamar does not state how long the full degree takes. Always ask whether a listed length includes the dissertation or final project.

Red Flags: How to Spot a Doctorate That Is Too Fast

Some websites sell a full doctorate in one year, and a few appear high in Google results. Watch for these warning signs:

  • It promises a full doctorate in 12 months or less, starting from a master’s degree.
  • It says “accredited” but does not name the accreditor. Or it names an agency the U.S. Department of Education does not recognize.
  • It points to a religious or state exemption instead of accreditation. An exemption usually means the school does not need a state license. It is not accreditation.
  • It charges a flat, low price for a whole doctorate, with no credit count or program length.
  • It sells a “PhD by portfolio” or “life experience” doctorate from a school you cannot find in the databases below.

Some real universities, mostly outside the U.S., offer a PhD by portfolio or publication. These programs are for people who already have a large body of published work. They are not a quick path to a U.S. EdD. Employers, school districts and licensing boards may not accept them.

How to check a school

  1. Search the school’s name in the U.S. Department of Education accreditation database. The department does not accredit schools itself. It lists schools accredited by agencies it recognizes.
  2. Search the school in the CHEA Directory of Accredited Institutions and Programs.
  3. If the school names an accreditor, find that agency on the department’s list of recognized agencies.
  4. If you cannot find the school or its accreditor, do not enroll until you get a clear answer.

Paying for a Fast Doctorate in 2026

Federal student aid can help pay for a doctorate, but only at an eligible school. In general, a school must be accredited by a recognized agency to offer federal aid. To apply, fill out the FAFSA.

Federal loan rules changed on July 1, 2026. Grad PLUS loans are no longer available to new graduate borrowers. These are the new limits for graduate students:

  • Direct Unsubsidized Loans: up to $20,500 a year
  • Total federal loans for graduate school: $100,000
  • Lifetime limit on federal student loans: $257,500

Some students who borrowed before July 1, 2026, may keep the old limits for a short time. This is called the interim exception, so ask your financial aid office. For details, see the U.S. Department of Education’s loan limit charts.

Prices vary widely, so compare each program’s total with these limits. Edgewood’s total tuition is $33,750 (2025–26). NYU estimates $108,785 in tuition and fees, which is more than the $100,000 graduate loan limit. Plan how you will cover any gap before you enroll.

Ask your employer or school district about tuition help. For lower prices, see our guide to the cheapest online EdD programs. For the full list of fast options, see our accelerated online EdD programs.

Terms to Know

  • ABD (all but dissertation): A student who finished doctoral coursework but not the dissertation.
  • Dissertation: A long research study that you plan, carry out, write and defend.
  • Dissertation in Practice: A doctoral research project that studies a real problem at work and proposes a solution.
  • Capstone: A final project that applies what you learned. Some programs use it instead of a dissertation.
  • Competency-based or FlexPath: A self-paced format where you move ahead when you show you know the material. FlexPath is Capella’s name for its version.
  • Accreditation: A quality review of a school by an independent agency. The U.S. Department of Education recognizes the agencies that count for federal aid.
  • PhD by portfolio: A doctorate based on work you already published or completed, instead of new courses.
  • EdS (Education Specialist): A graduate degree between a master’s and a doctorate.

Explore More EdD Guides

1-Year Doctorate FAQ

Can I get a doctorate in 1 year?

Not from an accredited school we checked, if you are starting with a master’s degree. The fastest full online EdDs take about 24 months. You may finish sooner only if you already have doctoral credits. For example, Gwynedd Mercy’s ABD Completion Program takes as few as 18 months.

What is the shortest doctoral program?

In education, the shortest full online EdDs we verified take about two years. Examples are Edgewood, Lipscomb, Nebraska Methodist (full-time), Rockhurst and Spalding. Outside education, Chatham University’s post-master’s DNP for nurses has 27 credits. Chatham says it can be completed in four terms.

Will FAFSA pay for a doctorate?

Yes, at an eligible, accredited school. The FAFSA is the form you use to apply for federal aid. Graduate students can borrow up to $20,500 a year in Direct Unsubsidized Loans. Total federal loans for graduate school are limited to $100,000. Grad PLUS loans closed to new graduate borrowers on July 1, 2026.

Is 27 too old to start a doctorate?

No. Online EdD programs are built for working adults at many stages of their careers. Your goals, time and budget matter much more than your age. Pick a program that fits the life you have now.

Is a PhD by portfolio legitimate?

It can be, at a recognized university. It is meant for people who already have a large body of published work. It is not a shortcut for a new doctoral student. Before you pay, confirm the school’s accreditation and ask whether your employer will accept the degree.

Does University of Phoenix offer a one-year PhD?

No. Phoenix says it does not offer PhD programs. Its online EdD lists a program length of 42 months.

Sources: Program lengths, credits and tuition were checked on each university’s official website in September 2026. Tuition is the rate each school posted then, and we name the academic year when the school does. Totals are the school’s own figures unless we mark them as our math. Loan limits are from the U.S. Department of Education. Accreditation checks used the U.S. Department of Education accreditation database and the CHEA directory.

Scroll to Top